The Association


Amongst the ethnic districts in Singapore, Little India has the most diverse range of commercial, religious, heritage and cultural organisations. With the strong support from government bodies such as the Singapore Tourism Board (STB) and Hindu Endowments Board (HEB), Little India Shopkeepers & Heritage Association (LISHA) was established in 2000 to promote the precinct’s heritage, culture, business and commercial activities. 

Being committed to improve the cultural and ethnic character of Little India as well as to make Little India a shopper’s paradise and preferred tourist destination in Singapore, LISHA addresses the concerns and needs of the various communities in Little India. 

LISHA plays a significant role in Little India by organising and refining annual festivities such as Pongal Festival, Indian and Tamil New Year, Deepavali, Thaipusam, Fire Walking Festival, Silver Chariot Processions, Navarathiri, Durga Pooja, Bangladesh New Year Celebrations and Singapore Food Festival. To promote the cultural and traditional aspects of these festivals, heritage exhibitions and interactive educational journeys are organised during these festivals as well. 

In 2013, LISHA celebrated the 25th year of Deepavali Light Up with Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong accompanied by Mrs Lee as he graced the occasion as the Guest of Honour. In the year 2015, his Excellency President Tony Tan accompanied by Mrs Mary Tan graced the SG50 UTSAV celebrations in Little India.

As a socially conscious organisation, LISHA has raised funds and contributed towards the President’s Challenge, SINDA’s Project Give and National Book Council of Singapore yearly. It has also contributed towards SARS Courage Fund, Vesak Bursary Awards (to Sinda), NTU, NUS, Tsunami Relief Fund, Mercy Relief Humanitarian Help – raised funds for Sri Lank citizens affected in civil war and Chennai Flood Relief Fund. 




Chairman - Mr Rajakumar Chandra

Vice-Chairman - Mr C Sankaranathan

Vice-Chairman - Mr Akber Ali

Vice-Chairman - Ms Joyce Stella Rani


Honorary Secretary - Mr P Ruthirapathy

Asst. Secretary - Mr P Arunachalam


Honorary Treasurer - Mr R Jayaselvam

Asst. Treasurer - Mr Shaick Fakrudeen


Council Members

- Mr M Harikrishnan

- Mr Clifford Tan

- Mr V Selvam

- Ms Vivienne Soon

- Mr A Selvakumar

- Mr V T Rama Murthy

- Mr T Regunarth (Siva)

- Mr G Rajakumar


Co-opted Members

- Mr K N Raja (Religious Affairs)

- Mrs Santha Bhaskar (Arts)


Sub Committee - LISHA Womens Wing

LISHA Women’s Wing (LWW) is a sub-committee of Little India Shopkeepers & Heritage Association(LISHA) which started in the year 2000.

LWW was established in August 2012. LWW conducts business networking sessions every 1st Thursday of the month and awareness programs once every 2 months. Their networking sessions are unique with business presentations, stalls, inspirational speeches, networking games with sumptuous buffet spread. Networking sessions are only open to ladies while their awareness programs are opened to both men & women on a wide range of topics.

LWW’s Mission Statement

To help WOMEN achieve greater entrepreneurial success, empowering them to become leaders.

LWW’s Pledge

We, the ladies of LISHA women’s wing pledge to serve our fellow ladies in the community to the best of our ability. We will strive to promote friendship, respect and tolerance within our organization and support our fellow members throughout good and bad times.

Develop as individuals and as a team to strengthen our social and corporate skills by striving to help everyone at our business/ networking sessions & awareness programs. We will grow and groom others as a contributing factor in our society and take pride, dignity and steadfast in our duties as a LWW Core Group Member.

To learn more about LISHA women’s wing, visit


Members List

Coming Soon

Exclusive Cultural Night

Enjoy an immersive experience with an array of performances lined up during the Indian Cultural Fiesta. Enjoy the wondrous sights and sounds created by the traditional performances daily. Date: 8th April to 13th April 2017 Time: 7pm to 9pm Venue: Campbell Lane